What is Source/Version/Revision Control? Should I be using it? If Yes, How ?

New Mercurial logo design. This logo is a simp...

A Version Control System (VCS) is a tool which keeps track of the changes to your code, and allows you do handy things like undo coding errors and see what has changed in the code over time. Modern Distributed Version Control Systems (DVCS) also allow you to work easily with other programmers on the same code. And yes, you should definitely be using a version control system!

The two most popular DVCSs are git and Mercurial; which you use mostly comes down to personal preference, but we strongly advise you to use one of them.

So how do I get started with revision control?

You can start with git by reading a git primer, over Internet, and also the free git book.

A good, brief tutorial on Mercurial is here.

About Kanthala Raghu

I am from Hyderabad, so I love to drink coke. I also love to explore Internet, which conflicts with love #1. I'm currently pursuing my Graduation in Electronics & Communications. I mostly blog about Tech, News, Open Source, whatever I'm learning about and shout down people who I disagree with - because I can't go to bed until people stop being wrong on the Internet.