Microsoft & Google To Sue US Government

Microsoft & Google against US law firm suit

Microsoft & Google against US law firm suits to reveal data collected over Internet.

Technology firms Microsoft and Google are set to sue the U.S. government to win the right to reveal more information about official requests for user data in the wake of revelations by Edward Snowden, the Guardian reported.

The companies announced the lawsuit Friday after talks with the justice department stalled. 

This is expected to escalate a legal battle over the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (Fisa), which is used by the National Security Agency (NSA) and other US government agencies to gather data about foreign internet users.

Microsoft’s general counsel, Brad Smith, made the announcement in a blog post that complained of the government’s “continued unwillingness” to let it publish information about Fisa requests.

Both the firms filed suits in a US federal court in June, arguing that they be allowed to make public more information about user data requests made under FISA.

The tech giants cited the first amendment, which guarantees freedom of speech, to defend corporate reputations battered by Snowden’s revelations.

About Kanthala Raghu

I am from Hyderabad, so I love to drink coke. I also love to explore Internet, which conflicts with love #1. I'm currently pursuing my Graduation in Electronics & Communications. I mostly blog about Tech, News, Open Source, whatever I'm learning about and shout down people who I disagree with - because I can't go to bed until people stop being wrong on the Internet.